The elements of Bikeability - the national standard in cycle training - are as follows:
Level 1A
Level 1B
Level 2
Level 3

Level 1A

  1. Get on and off the bike without help
  2. Start off and pedal without help
  3. Stop without help
  4. Ride along without help for roughly one minute or more
  5. Make the bike go where the rider wants

Certificates are available for successful attainment of each level. Levels 2 & 3 certification require successful completion of the earlier stages.