The elements of Bikeability - the national standard in cycle training - are as follows:
Level 1A
Level 1B
Level 2
Level 3

Level 1B

  1. Use the bike's gears
  2. Stop quickly with control
  3. Manoeuvre safely to avoid objects
  4. Look all around, including behind, without wobbling
  5. Ride using one hand only, right and left, without wobbling
  6. Carry out a simple bike check

Certificates are available for successful attainment of each level. Levels 2 & 3 certification require successful completion of the earlier stages.